My Favorite Pen

image of Pentel Energel Alloy gel pen

So nice, I bought it twice.

I’d like to tell you about my new favorite pen.

I’ve written before about how I sketch, plot, and outline my stories using notebooks. Up until a few months ago, I’d never given much thought to what I used to write in them. That all changed when I met the Pentel EnerGel Alloy.

I ran out of crappy old ballpoint pens in my home office. Rather than just running to the pharmacy and grabbing another pack of blue&whites for $3, I thought about getting something I could refill. I knew that refillable pens could be expensive, but a quick search online showed the Alloy as the highest-rated refillable pen for under $10.

I was able to snag one at my local office supply store for around $8, with a 2-pack of .05 (fine point) refills for about $3. Overall, a good deal. Price isn’t the reason I fell in love with it though.

If you’ve never bothered to try writing with a nice pen, I HIGHLY recommend you give it a shot. It feels great, especially during extended sessions. I’ve used countless pens throughout the years both at home and work, and these are the features that have me enamored enough with this thing to write a blog post about it.

Weight & Balance

The weight and heft of the Alloy is great. It’s actually made of metal as its name implies, and you can tell. It feels incredibly sturdy, and the texture feels great on your fingers. The extra weight also gives it a nice balance as you write with it.

Ink & “Write-a-bility”

I totally just made the term “write-a-bility” up, because I could think of anything better. A big reason I chose this was the note on the package that said “No smudging. Even lefties love it!”

In a cruel twist of fate, the universe made me left-handed. It’s one of the reasons I generally avoid gel pens and pencils. Pentel was making a bold promise, but they actually delivered. They’ve designed a gel pen that even me and my cursed brethren can use without getting our backwards hands coated with shiny black ink. For this, they have a lifelong customer.

Price Point

I said price wasn’t the only determining factor, but it definitely a role in my decision. Seriously, do you know how EXPENSIVE pens can get? Don’t even get me started on the fountain pens I saw online for calligraphy. Yikes!

At just under ten bucks, the Alloy more than suits my needs, and it is just pricey enough that I’ll make sure to take care of it. Unlike most disposable pens, I make sure to put it back in its place whenever I’m done using it. I also bought a spare to bring with me, since I loved the first one so much.

 

The Pentel EnerGel Alloy is now my weapon of choice for getting words into my notebooks. I’m definitely a happy convert to owning a nice refillable pen, after slumming it with cheap, disposable BIC’s all these years.

Do you have a favorite pen? Tell me about it down in the comments!

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Pen

    • B.L. Daniels says:

      Me too. The Alloy comes with .07 out of the box, but I bought all fine tip .05 refills. They feel better for any kind of cursive writing, or if a rough sketch makes its way into my notebook.

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Rebecca Moon Ruark says:

    Love this post. I feel like I was always an extra fine felt tip sort of person (I’m a rightie), and always blue, but lately I’ve been slumming it with whatever I find around the house. You’ve inspired me to treat myself! And best of luck with the novel manuscript. I always write first drafts of chapters and stories long-hand.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

