Self Publish, Traditional, or Hybrid?

35b781604e158af3eb605523c98a89f7

A question for all my fellow writers out there.

When the time comes to unleash your completed works into the world, how do you do it?

Are you taking the DIY route of self-publishing, with its steep learning curve and up-front costs? Or are you walking that traditional publishing road, fraught with long wait times and piles of rejection letters?

I ask because I’ve been reading articles like this one at Writer’s Digest¬†about “hybrid publishing”. Most writers I speak with choose one path or the other, but it would seem the hybrid model has some advantages from both.

I’ve begun the process of submitting work to journals and other outlets (short stories, flash fiction) while continuing to write larger pieces that will either be self-published or queried. It seems like the stigma of being “one or the other” is slowly fading away, and I’m interested to see if one strategy pans out better than the other.

Does anyone else use a “hybrid model” for publishing their work? Do you take different publication routes for your individual projects, or try to stick solely to one strategy that works for you?

 

6 thoughts on “Self Publish, Traditional, or Hybrid?

    • B.L. Daniels says:

      That’s where I started too with my first book. I had some short stories published traditionally many years ago, but I’m reading more and more articles that are making me lean back towards trying to submit and query agents. It’s mostly a visibility issue because honestly, these days when someone says “self publish”, 95% of the time they mean “publish on Amazon.” The control and speed is definitely a huge positive, but part of me fundamentally dislikes that we (numerous self-published writers) are essentially flooding one marketplace. Hence my research into more writers going “hybrid”. Apparently traditional publishing houses expect authors to do a lot of self promotion these days anyway.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

    • B.L. Daniels says:

      That’s what I had been operating under as well, but I see a number of people saying that self-published works have a hard time being “trad pubbed” or “agents won’t touch self-published books”. It seems like a lot of opinions to me, since other advice conflicts and says these days traditional publishers are looking for authors who already have a built in audience. Much like A&R reps back in the day wanted local bands who already had a following.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

