When Do You Write?

coffee-stock-photo-0e8b300f42157b6f

I write best early in the morning.

It seems counterintuitive that my brain would conjure up words out of the fog of sleep, but then maybe it’s because morning is when I have the most freedom for creative inspiration (and coffee).

Juggling a career, family duties, and all the other things that come up in a day; mornings are when I can really focus on getting words down or revising. I’ve tried numerous times to write in the evenings, or even mid-day during lunch breaks, but it never works for me.

Maybe the stresses and responsibilities of the day expend too much mental fuel from my tank?

This isn’t a product of age or evolution either, from what I can tell. Even in high school and college I was always a morning person, and got my best work done in the early daylight hours.

When are you the most creative and productive with your writing? Hopefully you’re one of those lucky writers who can just knock out great ideas around the clock whenever you have the free time!

2 thoughts on “When Do You Write?

Leave a Reply

