Pines (Wayward Pines, #1) Review

Pines (Wayward Pines, #1)Pines by Blake Crouch

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I had mixed feelings about this book, and like most other reviewers, I’ll try to explain my feelings without spoiling anything.

The majority of the book is decent. It starts with a compelling mystery that really hooked me. Roughly 40% of the story continues to expand on that, and it has a nice “Twin Peaks” vibe. Very ominous.

Unfortunately, that mystery eventually wears out its welcome and devolves into multiple extended chase scenes, along with some pointless flashbacks peppered in. This ultimately leads up to a reveal that is ultimately lackluster. Although I wasn’t as taken aback by the author’s style (intentional lack of pronouns, etc) as some were, what really stuck out to me was the weapon and vehicle details. The main character IS ex-military/secret service, but the explicit naming of some equipment and processes just felt odd and jarring to me.

Based on the reveal and ending, along with the teaser chapter at the end of the novel, I don’t plan to read any further into the series, which is a bummer because I thoroughly enjoyed the book when I started it.

View all my reviews on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

